Capitalism: A Debate (Jacobin vs Reason)

11:30 am Pacific – 02:30 pm Eastern – 19:30 GMT

Capitalism: A Debate (Jacobin vs Reason)

A debate between Reason and Jacobin. Is capitalism the best way to improve standards of living, ensure political and economic freedom, and provide opportunity? Could socialism do better?

Moderated by Michelle Goldberg, columnist for the New York Times.
Featuring: Nick Gillespie and Katherine Mangu-Ward (for Reason)
Vivek Chibber and Bhaskar Sunkara (for Jacobin)

The debate was held November 3, 2017 at Cooper Union’s historic Great Hall, which has since 1858 hosted critically important debates and political speeches from Abraham Lincoln, to Frederick Douglass, Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stantion, to Ralph Nader, to Bolivian president Evo Morales and Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez. Reason is the libertarian magazine of “Free Minds and Free Markets” (http://www.reason.com). Jacobin is a leading voice of the American left, offering socialist perspectives on politics, economics, and culture. (http://www.jacobinmag.com)

Ankush Narula
(NOTE: This video was uploaded here because it was originally live-streamed on Facebook and hence it was unavailable for playback on media players like Roku, Apple TV, Fire TV and Chromecast)



This show was broadcast on January 6, 2018.

      Listen to the Archive Here
For downloads and more click here to SUBSCRIBE!



Share

Comments are closed.

CLICK HERE to Listen with iTunes, VLC, Winamp, or other players
No Lies Radio Visitors


Join Our Email List

* required

*



*



By joining our email list you agree to our Privacy Policy.

Archives

September 2018
S M T W T F S
« Aug    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

User Login